There’s Always Room for Art

23rd

This photo was taken yesterday on West 23rd Street in Manhattan. I was walking along and I noticed this mini outdoor installation behind a forbidding iron grate that separates the sidewalk from the building.

I felt that I had discovered something unexpectedly delightful – a “found installation” that doesn’t advertise itself but rewards passersby who stop to notice.

This unnamed, uncredited work reminded me of Louise Nevelson’s sculptures, which I encountered for the first time when I was editing an art history textbook a number of years ago. I just wish the photo better displayed the work (the photo was taken at night on a camera phone).

Leave a Reply

