Process and Cozies and Boxers, Oh My

It is finally happening this weekend: Deadly Ink 2014, held in New Brunswick, NJ, between August 1st and 3rd.

For those who are interested, I’ll be taking part in two panels on Saturday, August 1st.

The first is titled “Read, Write, Revise, Repeat: What Goes Into Creating a Polished Manuscript.” That one should be fun, because I always love hearing about other types of process. My own is rather OCD-based and I’m sure there’s a better way to do it than to fear writing a manuscript for months, and then to finally sit down and do it and wonder why I worried so much. The moderator is Peggy Ehrhart, author of the Maxx Maxwell series, featuring a protagonist who literally sings the blues. My esteemed colleagues on the panel will be:

The second is titled “Let’s Get Cozy” and is a discussion of a favorite genre.  Our moderator is K.B. Inglee, who has written quite widely, including novels and short stories. Panelists are:

  • Ilene Schneider, author of the Rabbi Aviva Cohen mysteries and a dedicated birdwatcher (she recently taught me that birds can’t smell);
  • Jane Kelly, author of several N.J.-based humorous mysteries;
  • Peggy Ehrhart (as above);
  • John Clement (as above).

As much as I enjoy sharing panels with other writers, what I love the most about conventions is meeting readers and learning what they enjoy in a book (and what they don’t like – such as snakes on a cover). I hope to see you in New Brunswick.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Process and Cozies and Boxers, Oh My

  1. Actually, some birds can smell: vultures, for example, so they can find food. If it weren’t for Turkey Vultures’ sense of smell, we’d all be up to our knees in road kill. TVs are also smelly – they avoid becoming prey by urinating down their own legs. Let’s see if we can work some of this info into our panel! See you on Friday. Looking forward to both Deadly Ink and to seeing you again.

    • Ah, what I don’t know about birds could fill the Grand Canyon. Sorry for misquoting you, Ilene! And I think you have answered the burning question: “How can turkey vultures become even more grotesque?” Answer: By urinating down their own legs.

  2. Pingback: Say hello | The Chalk Outline

Leave a Reply

