Reader Advisory!

This is a big thank-you to everyone who’s written to tell me that the enjoyed The Outsmarting of Criminals. I thought it only fair to mention that my other books are really quite different from Outsmarting! I know that everyone’s reading time is limited and precious, and I wouldn’t want anyone to pick up one of my other novels and think they are getting something similar to The Outsmarting of Criminals. So, for anyone who’s interested, here’s a quick overview.

Who Gets the Apartment? is the closest to Outsmarting in terms of character and tone. It’s meant to be light-hearted, though it was inspired by reality TV. I had observed that reality TV has the goal of bringing out the worst in people, so I wrote this book to show how the same set of events could lead to drastically different outcomes–one if people behave selfishly and viciously, and a different (better) one if people focus on their better selves, on friendship and cooperation. It was my first novel and it holds a special place in my heart. It’s out of print in hard copy, but still available as an ebook through the usual outlets (Amazon Kindle, Barnes & Noble Nook, Apple iTunes).

Circle of Assassins is noir. It throws together five strangers who agree to murder someone chosen by another member of this dark circle. It is rather an intense character study, and it has profanity and adult situations that are dark and troublesome. It’s told through a series of letters, first-person narratives, and third-person narratives, with everything coming together in the end. Of my books, I think of this as my most serious, and I’m particularly proud of the plotting. But it’s rather rough, and NOT a book that Miss Felicity Prim would choose to read.

Androgynous Murder House Party is an urban satire. It is my problem child. There’s not only a murder mystery to be solved, but also a deeper mystery. All of the main characters have androgynous names, and part of the reader’s job is to determine who is male and who is female. This required me to write without pronouns, which proved to be one of the biggest challenges I ever set for myself. The thing about this book, though, is that the people are all sort of awful, including the narrator. (As the book opens, the incredibly self-centered narrator is completely oblivious to the fact that his or her friends are trying to kill him or her.) So, in that way, it is an anti-cozy. These are the sorts of New Yorkers whom Miss Prim might encounter, and not particularly enjoy, in Doctor Poe’s waiting room. I’m proud of this book, but it is definitely not for everyone.

Amazon’s “About the Book” feature will let you read the first pages of all of these books, to determine whether or not they are to your taste.

Happy reading,
Steve

Leave a Reply

